Pendragon announces new album

Pendragon will release a new studio album early 2020. The album is called Love Over Fear and takes the whole sound and way of listening to music back to a time when the emphasis was on strong melodies, dreamlike atmospheres and actual singable songs. Music that takes what used to be called ‘a good listen!’

The idea has been to rebel against the throwaway culture and instant gratification of the Spotifys of this world and create an actual thing with proper artwork that you can browse through by way of a hardback book nearly the size of a vinyl album sleeve and an album that contains 65 minutes of uplifting and melodic music . Something you can get lost in….damn it –  something beautiful again!

Love Over Fear, the special edition hardback book will come out at the beginning of Feb 2020 which, like the First 40 Years release will be a  285mm x 285mm hardback book containing 3 cds which will comprise the main album plus an acoustic version of the album with orchestral and extended sections, plus an instrumental CD version.  The digi-pack and vinyl release will follow a couple of weeks later.

Pre-Order for this special edition plus the basic version digi-pack (one CD, limited artwork) and the vinyl (gatefold sleeve) will start via the Pendragon website on December 1st. Also on December 1st we will release the new artwork, a teaser video and some new merch items in time for Christmas!

The music on Love Over Fear, says guitarist/vocalist/writer Nick Barrett – ‘has all the hallmarks of mid 90’s Pendragon, I’ve used the Paintbox, Breaking The Spell style of format in the arrangements and wanted to go back to meaningful guitar solos and use sounds similar to albums that I loved in the 70’s, so there are tons of 12 string guitar sections, mellotron strings and very melodic keyboard parts. But also something very new for Pendragon, a couple of what I feel are the best vocal performances I have ever done on two emotive piano/vocal songs called Starfish And The Moon and Whirlwind.  There is also a rough and tumble traditional Irish type rock song called 360 Degrees which was inspired by moving to Cornwall, it’s very Celtic and has Zoe Devenish on fiddle,  I can see it becoming our new Nostradamus!

The album was recorded at Thin Ice in Surrey and Sharlands Barn in Cornwall and produced by Nick Barrett and Karl Groom. The incredible artwork for Love Over Fear was actually painted with real paints by a real artist called Liz Saddington……..none of yer photoshop here! Liz, a local girl from Cornwall has worked closely with Nick Barrett on the concepts for Love Over Fear and spent over a year and a half putting together a stunning cover and refining every single detail till perfection was reached. There are also painted illustrations for each song in the special edition book/3 cd set and an array of stunning photos.

The band are doing a 35 date tour across the world, including Europe, Canada, South America (TBC) and will perform at Cruise To The Edge in March 2020. Pendragon plan to play all of Love Over Fear on this tour.

Love Over Fear -Track Listing

  • Everything 5.58
  • Starfish And The Moon 3.26
  • Truth And Lies 8.21
  • 360 Degrees   5.34
  • Soul And The Sea 5.23
  • Eternal Light 8.09
  • Water 8.55
  • Whirlwind 5.08
  • Who Really Are We?  8.38
  • Afraid Of Everything 5.30

Total running time (approx) – 65m. 03s.

2023 © Neverland Concerts - Avís legal - Política de cookies